top of page

Diving into the First Story


(my very, very rough draft)

Initially, my signature project was going to be about me writing a short novel. I knew I was overly ambitious, yet I wanted to try doing so. When summer came, I sat down at my desk, and started brainstorming the bits and pieces of the plot. But soon, I realized that the material I had written down was not enough for a whole novel to use, so I changed my mind, and turned my project into a collection of 5 short stories instead.

For the past few months, I’ve been working on finalizing the first story of my collection of short stories. I had already started on a great chunk of it, so I didn’t worry about it at all. But then Parent’s Day came along, and the workload for college applications started to pile up, causing me to push back all the work I had planned for the month of October. That being said, I have made the decision with my mentor to push back my schedule a little bit, and focus on writing the second story for the month of November.

My goal now is to finish the first 1.5 pages of the second short story by November 2nd, so that my mentor can take a look at it the next time we meet, which will be November 3rd. Hopefully, I’ll be done with the second story by the next deadline, November 11th.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page