top of page

How It All Started...

Now that Signature is coming to an end, I realise I've never actually written about why I wanted to complete such a project. Combining five short stories into a book is not the project I start out with. Although I've talked about changing the project in past blogs, I never talked about why I wanted to write stories in the first place.

As a kid, the coffee table in my living room on Sundays was always stacked with library books, because all the members of the family loved reading. While reading children's books on fairies and magic, princesses and adventures, ideas of plot points and character development would form in my head. Because of this, I began writing my own stories.

Interestingly, I always ended up throwing away the pieces of paper that I used to write my stories, because I would read them the next week and cringe. To me, they were never good enough.

My Signature project actually taught me more than just how to edit my work and how to juggle work in between classes. It taught me not to abandon my work regardless whether or not they're good. It taught me to appreciate, and to be grateful for, the progress I've made, as well as the whole process of getting to where I am, and I think that's the main reason why I haven't given up on stories that need more than just "revision".


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page